Audio Samples

Vita

Tatjana Masurenko

“Most colourful and convincing viola playing” (Herbert Blomstedt)

Tatjana Masurenko is one of the leading viola players of our time. Her distinctive style is shaped by her expressive playing and her thorough and intensive musical studies. Her charisma and natural stage presence are captivating. Alongside the great viola concertos by Walton, Bartók and Hindemith, Tatjana’s wide-ranging concert repertoire also includes modern classical works such as Schnittke, Gubaidulina and Kancheli and the rarely performed viola concertos by Hartmann and Bartel.

Tatjana Masurenko has made solo appearances with orchestras including the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, the Radio Symphonie Orchester Berlin, the NDR Radiophilharmonie and other leading orchestras in Europe and Asia. She has been a welcome guest at major international festivals as both soloist and chamber musician for many years.

She grew up in a family of Russian academics and jazz musicians. Her musical path began in St Petersburg where she was able to benefit from the traditional St Petersburg school with the best teachers of her time. She continued her musical studies in Germany with Kim Kashkashian and Nobuko Imai. Her search for new forms of expression on the viola and new techniques and tonal concepts were encouraged and influenced by encounters with figures including Boris Pergamenschikow, György Kurtág, Brigitte Fassbaender and Herbert Blomstedt.

For some years now, Tatjana Masurenko’s major objective in her musical career has been the further development of the viola as a solo instrument which also explains her commitment to contemporary music. She has given numerous first performances of new compositions, many of which are dedicated to her and originated on her initiative. She has worked with composers such as the recently deceased Gladys Krenek, Moritz von Gagern, Dimitri Terzakis, Wolfgang Rihm, Hans-Christian Bartel, Luca Lombardi and Nejat Başeğmezler. Tatjana Masurenko’s discography reflects the musician’s high artistic standards. Right from the start, she compiles the programmes of her CDs meticulously and with great deliberation.

Tatjana Masurenko plays the music of Ernst Krenek with enthusiasm, supports the Ernst Krenek Institute in Krems, Austria, and has recorded all his works for solo viola. Several of her CD recordings (for example the concerto by K. A. Hartmann and British Viola Concertos featuring concertos by Walton, Beamish und Britten) received awards including the Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik and international accolades such as the Supersonic Award (Luxemburg) and the Diapason découverte (France). Her 3-CD box set “White Nights – Music from St. Petersburg”, which she recorded with pianist Roglit Ishay, is one of the most important recordings of this repertoire.

At present, Tatjana Masurenko is intensively dedicated to historical performance practice and especially to 19th century playing and the romantic repertoire. For several years she has been engaged in playing the viola d’amore: thus, she interprets baroque and classical repertoire with passion, but at the same time she develops modern music on this baroque instrument with much interest in an experimental and innovative way with new sound ideas. She plays a viola d’amore by Charles Jacquot, Paris 1849.

Tatjana Masurenko is dedicated to promoting young musicians. From 2002 to 2022 she was professor of viola at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater “Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy” Leipzig with an international reputation and she teaches since 2019 in the same position at the Haute Ecole de Musique de Lausanne in Sion, Switzerland. In June 2022, Tatjana Masurenko has been appointed to fakulty by The Colburn School (Los Angeles, USA). She gives master classes in Europe and America and is artistic director of the International Viola Camp in Iznik (Turkey) as well as of a master class in Leipzig.

Many of her students have built successful careers and travel the world as soloists, professors, principal violists in major orchestras and as chamber musicians.

Her teaching style is built on the St. Petersburg tradition of the 19th/early 20th century and merges with the new ideas and sensibilities of the 20th/21st century, especially in the interpretation of Baroque and Classical music.

Tatjana Masurenko plays a viola by P. Testore, Milan 1756 and a specially built instrument by Jürgen Manthey, Leipzig 2017, who has developed new acoustic and tonal construction methods that clearly distinguish his instruments from others. She changes the bows to match the style.

 

Dmitri Schostakowitsch, Präludium Nr. 10 op. 34 für Viola und Klavier
Roglit Ishay – piano

Dmitri Schostakowitsch, Präludium Nr. 10 op. 34 für Viola und Klavier https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/00-Schostakowitsch-Präludium-Nr.-10-TM.mp3

Dmitri Shostakovich, Prelude no. 24 op. 34 for viola and piano
Roglit Ishay - piano

Dmitri Shostakovich, Prelude no. 24 op. 34 for viola and piano https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/1-Schostakowitsch-Präludium-24-TM.mp3

Moritz Gagern, Auffädeln“ for viola and speaker
Brigitte Fassbaender - speaker

Moritz Gagern, Auffädeln“ for viola and speaker https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/2-Moritz-Gagern-Auffädeln.mp3

Alexander Glasunow, Elegie op. 44 for viola and piano
Roglit Ishay - piano

Alexander Glasunow, Elegie op. 44 for viola and piano https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/3-Glasunow-Elegie_TM.mp3

Sally Beamish, concert no. 1 for viola and orchestra
NDR Radiophilharmonie, Garry Walker - conductor

Sally Beamish, concert no. 1 for viola and orchestra https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/4-Beamish-Konzert_TM.mp3

Sergej Prokofiew, Romeo and Julia (ballett suite), arrangement: Vadim Borisovsky, no. 4, Montagues and Capulets (Dance of the Knights), Allegro pesante
Roglit Ishay - piano

Sergej Prokofiew, Romeo and Julia (ballett suite), arrangement: Vadim Borisovsky, no. 4, Montagues and Capulets (Dance of the Knights), Allegro pesante https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/5-Prokofiew-Romeo+Julia-Montagues-TM.mp3

Bruno Maderna, Viola for Viola solo (live)
Tatjana Masurenko - Viola

Bruno Maderna, Viola for Viola solo (live) https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/6-Maderna-Viola.mp3

William Walton, concert for viola and orchestra, 1st mouvement, Andante commodo
NDR Radiophilharmonie, Garry Walker - conductor

William Walton, concert for viola and orchestra, 1st mouvement, Andante commodo https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/7-Walton-Konzert-1.-Satz.mp3

Igor Strawinsky, „Elégie“
Tatjana Masurenko - viola

Igor Strawinsky, „Elégie“ https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/8-Strawinsky-Elegie-TM.mp3

Piotr Tschaikowski, Valse sentimentale op. 51 Nr. 6 for viola and piano
Roglit Ishay - piano

Piotr Tschaikowski, Valse sentimentale op. 51 Nr. 6 for viola and piano https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/9-Tschaikowsky-Vals-sentimentale-TM.mp3

Edison Denisow, Chamber Music for viola, harpsichord and strings
Gewandhausorchester, Michael Agrest - conductor

Edison Denisow, Chamber Music for viola, harpsichord and strings https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/10-Denisow-Kammermusik_TM.mp3

A. Zyganow, Introduction and Czardas (live)
Yaruss-Quartett

A. Zyganow, Introduction and Czardas (live) https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/11-A.-Zyganow-Introduktion-und-Czardas-TM.mp3

Audio samples

Hörproben

Vita

Tatjana MasurenkoTatjana Masurenko zählt zu den bedeutenden Bratschistinnen unserer Zeit. Ihre ausdrucksvolle Spielweise, die intensive und tiefsinnige Auseinandersetzung mit der Musik prägen ihr unverwechselbares Profil. Mit Charisma und ihrer natürlichen Bühnenpräsenz verzaubert sie ihr Publikum. Tatjanas weitgefächertes Konzertrepertoire beinhaltet neben den großen Konzerten von Walton, Bartók und Hindemith auch Klassiker der Moderne wie Schnittke, Gubaidulina und Kancheli sowie selten gespielte Violakonzerte von Hartmann und Bartel.

Als Solistin spielt Tatjana Masurenko mit Orchestern wie dem Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, dem Radio Symphonie Orchester Berlin, der NDR Radiophilharmonie sowie anderen führenden Orchestern in Europa und Asien. Seit vielen Jahren ist sie ein gern gesehener Gast der großen internationalen Festivals, als Solistin und als Kammermusikerin.

Sie entstammt einer russischen Familie von Wissenschaftlern und Jazz-Musikern. Bereits mit fünf Jahren bekommt sie in St. Petersburg Klavier- und Geigenunterricht und kommt so von Anbeginn in den Genuss der traditionsreichen St. Petersburger Schule und der besten Lehrer ihrer Zeit. In Deutschland setzt sie ihre Ausbildung bei Kim Kashkashian und Nobuko Imai fort. Auf der Suche nach neuen Ausdrucksformen, neuen Techniken und klanglichen Ideen haben sie vor allem die Freundschaften mit Boris Pergamenschikow, György Kurtág, Brigitte Fassbaender und Herbert Blomstedt geprägt und vorangebracht.

Die Weiterentwicklung der Viola als Solo-Instrument ist seit vielen Jahren ein zentrales Anliegen in Tatjana Masurenkos Schaffen. In diesem Zusammenhang ist auch ihr Engagement für die zeitgenössische Musik zu verstehen. Die Bratschistin hat zahlreiche Werke zur Uraufführung gebracht, viele von ihnen sind ihr gewidmet und durch ihre Initiative entstanden. Zu den Komponisten, mit denen sie zusammenarbeitet, zählen u. a. die kürzlich verstorbene Gladys Krenek, Moritz von Gagern, Dimitri Terzakis, Wolfgang Rihm, Hans-Christian Bartel, Luca Lombardi und Nejat Başeğmezler. Die Programme ihrer CDs wählt sie von Beginn an mit künstlerischem Anspruch und größter Sorgfalt.

Tatjana Masurenko spielt mit Begeisterung die Musik von Ernst Krenek, unterstützt das Ernst Krenek Institut in Krems, Österreich, und hat alle seine Werke für Viola solo aufgenommen. Einige ihrer CD-Aufnahmen (Konzert von K. A. Hartmann, British Viola Concertos mit Konzerten von Walton, Beamish und Britten) wurden mit dem Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik sowie international mit dem Supersonic Award (Luxemburg) und dem Diapason découverte (Frankreich) ausgezeichnet. Ihre 3-CD-Box „White Nights – Music from St. Petersburg“, die sie mit Pianistin Roglit Ishay aufgenommen hat, zählt zu den wichtigsten Aufnahmen dieses Repertoires.

Gegenwärtig widmet sich Tatjana Masurenko intensiv der historischen Aufführungspraxis und dabei besonders der Spielweise des 19. Jahrhunderts und des romantischen Repertoires. Sie beschäftigt sich seit einigen Jahren mit dem Spiel der Viola d’amore: so interpretiert sie mit Leidenschaft barockes und klassisches Repertoire, entwickelt aber gleichzeitig mit viel Interesse experimentell und innovativ mit neuen Klangideen moderne Musik auf diesem barocken Instrument. Sie spielt eine Viola d‘amore von Charles Jacquot, Paris 1849.

Tatjana Masurenko setzt sich mit Hingabe für die musikalische Nachwuchsförderung ein. Von 2002 bis 2022 war sie Professorin für Viola an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater „Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy“ Leipzig mit international bestem Renommee und unterrichet seit 2019 in der gleichen Position an der Haute Ecole de Musique de Lausanne in Sion, Schweiz. Im Juni 2022 wurde sie von der Coburn School (Los Angeles, USA) an die Fakultät berufen. Sie gibt Meisterkurse u. a. in Spanien, Kanada, Skandinavien und ist künstlerische Leiterin des International Viola Camp in Iznik (Türkei) sowie von einem Meisterkurs in Leipzig.
Viele ihrer Studierenden haben erfolgreiche Karrieren aufgebaut und sind als Solisten, Professoren, Solobratschisten in großen Orchestern und als Kammermusikerinnen und Kammermusiker in der Welt unterwegs.
Ihre Unterrichtsweise ist auf der St. Petersburger Tradition des 19./frühen 20. Jahrhunderts aufgebaut und verschmilzt mit den neuen Ideen und Empfindungen des 20./21. Jahrhunderts, vor allem in der Interpretation von Barock und Klassik.

Tatjana Masurenko spielt eine Viola von P. Testore, Mailand 1756 und ein eigens für sie gebautes Instrument von Jürgen Manthey, Leipzig 2017, der neue akustische und klangliche Bauweisen entwickelt hat, die seine Instrumente deutlich von anderen unterscheiden. Passend zur Stilrichtung wechselt sie die Bögen.

Robert Schumann, Adagio und Allegro op. 70, I. Langsam, mit innigem Ausdruck
Gilad Katznelson, Klavier

Robert Schumann, Adagio und Allegro op. 70, I. Langsam, mit innigem Ausdruck https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/Robert-Schumann-Adagio-und-Allegro-op.-70-I.-Langsam-mit-innigem-Ausdruck.m4a

Ernst Krenek, Sonata for Solo Viola op. 92 No. 3, I. Allegro moderato, energico

Ernst Krenek, Sonata for Solo Viola op. 92 No. 3, I. Allegro moderato, energico https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/Ernst-Krenek-Sonata-for-Solo-Viola-op.-92-No.-3-I.-Allegro-moderato-energico.m4a

Ernst Krenek, Sonata for Solo Viola op. 92 No. 3, II. Adagio

Ernst Krenek, Sonata for Solo Viola op. 92 No. 3, II. Adagio https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/Ernst-Krenek-Sonata-for-Solo-Viola-op.-92-No.-3-II.-Adagio.m4a

Ernst Krenek, Sonata for Solo Viola op. 92 No. 3, III. Scherzo, vivace

Ernst Krenek, Sonata for Solo Viola op. 92 No. 3, III. Scherzo, vivace https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/Ernst-Krenek-Sonata-for-Solo-Viola-op.-92-No.-3-III.-Scherzo-vivace.m4a

Ernst Krenek, Sonata for Solo Viola op. 92 No. 3, IV. Chaconne, Allegro con Vigore

Ernst Krenek, Sonata for Solo Viola op. 92 No. 3, IV. Chaconne, Allegro con Vigore https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/Ernst-Krenek-Sonata-for-Solo-Viola-op.-92-No.-3-IV.-Chaconne-Allegro-con-Vigore.m4a

Ernst Krenek, Sonata for Viola and Piano op. 117, I. Andante
Jens Elvekjær, Klavier

Ernst Krenek, Sonata for Viola and Piano op. 117, I. Andante https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/Ernst-Krenek-Sonata-for-Viola-and-Piano-op.-117-I.-Andante.m4a

Ernst Krenek, Sonata for Viola and Piano op. 117, II. Allegro vivace
Jens Elvekjær, Klavier

Ernst Krenek, Sonata for Viola and Piano op. 117, II. Allegro vivace https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/Ernst-Krenek-Sonata-for-Viola-and-Piano-op.-117-II.-Allegro-vivace.m4a

Ernst Krenek, Sonata for Viola and Piano op. 117, III. Andantino
Jens Elvekjær, Klavier

Ernst Krenek, Sonata for Viola and Piano op. 117, III. Andantino https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/Ernst-Krenek-Sonata-for-Viola-and-Piano-op.-117-III.-Andantino.m4a

Robert Schumann, Adagio und Allegro op. 70, II. Rasch und feurig
Gilad Katznelson, Klavier

Robert Schumann, Adagio und Allegro op. 70, II. Rasch und feurig https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/Robert-Schumann-Adagio-und-Allegro-op.-70-II.-Rasch-und-feurig.m4a

Robert Schumann, Frauenliebe und -leben op. 42 No. 2, Er, der Herrlichste von allen
Gilad Katznelson, Klavier

Robert Schumann, Frauenliebe und -leben op. 42 No. 2, Er, der Herrlichste von allen https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/Robert-Schumann-Frauenliebe-und-leben-op.-42-No.-2-Er-der-Herrlichste-von-allen.m4a

Robert Schumann, Märchenbilder op. 113, II. Lebhaft
Gilad Katznelson, Klavier

Robert Schumann, Märchenbilder op. 113, II. Lebhaft https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/Robert-Schumann-Märchenbilder-op.-113-II.-Lebhaft.m4a

Robert Schumann, Märchenbilder op. 113, I. Nicht schnell
Gilad Katznelson, Klavier

Robert Schumann, Märchenbilder op. 113, I. Nicht schnell https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/Robert-Schumann-Märchenbilder-op.-113-I.-Nicht-schnell.m4a

Robert Schumann, Märchenbilder op. 113, III. Rasch
Gilad Katznelson, Klavier

Robert Schumann, Märchenbilder op. 113, III. Rasch https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/Robert-Schumann-Märchenbilder-op.-113-III.-Rasch-und-feurig.m4a

Robert Schumann, Märchenbilder op. 113, IV. Langsam, mit melancholischem Ausdruck
Gilad Katznelson, Klavier

Robert Schumann, Märchenbilder op. 113, IV. Langsam, mit melancholischem Ausdruck https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/Robert-Schumann-Märchenbilder-op.-113-IV.-Langsam-mit-melancholischem-Ausdruck.m4a

Dmitri Schostakowitsch, Präludium Nr. 10 op. 34 für Viola und Klavier
Roglit Ishay – Klavier

Dmitri Schostakowitsch, Präludium Nr. 10 op. 34 für Viola und Klavier https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/00-Schostakowitsch-Präludium-Nr.-10-TM.mp3

Dmitri Schostakowitsch, Präludium Nr. 24 op. 34 für Viola und Klavier
Roglit Ishay - Klavier

Dmitri Schostakowitsch, Präludium Nr. 24 op. 34 für Viola und Klavier https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/1-Schostakowitsch-Präludium-24-TM.mp3

Moritz Gagern, „Auffädeln“ für Viola und Sprecherin (2007)
Brigitte Fassbaender

Moritz Gagern, „Auffädeln“ für Viola und Sprecherin (2007) https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/2-Moritz-Gagern-Auffädeln.mp3

Alexander Glasunow, Elegie op. 44 für Viola und Klavier
Roglit Ishay - Klavier

Alexander Glasunow, Elegie op. 44 für Viola und Klavier https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/3-Glasunow-Elegie_TM.mp3

Sally Beamish, Konzert Nr. 1 für Viola und Orchester
NDR Radiophilharmonie, Garry Walker - Dirigent

Sally Beamish, Konzert Nr. 1 für Viola und Orchester https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/4-Beamish-Konzert_TM.mp3

Sergej Prokofiew, Romeo und Julia
Roglit Ishay - Klavier

Sergej Prokofiew, Romeo und Julia https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/5-Prokofiew-Romeo+Julia-Montagues-TM.mp3

Bruno Maderna, Viola für Viola solo (live)
Tatjana Masurenko - Viola

Bruno Maderna, Viola für Viola solo (live) https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/6-Maderna-Viola.mp3

William Walton, Konzert für Viola und Orchester, 1. Satz, Andante commodo
NDR Radiophilharmonie, Garry Walker - Dirigent

William Walton, Konzert für Viola und Orchester, 1. Satz, Andante commodo https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/7-Walton-Konzert-1.-Satz.mp3

Igor Strawinsky, „Elégie“
Tatjana Masurenko - Viola

Igor Strawinsky, „Elégie“ https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/8-Strawinsky-Elegie-TM.mp3

Piotr Tschaikowski, Valse sentimentale op. 51 Nr. 6 für Viola und Klavier
Roglit Ishay - Klavier

Piotr Tschaikowski, Valse sentimentale op. 51 Nr. 6 für Viola und Klavier https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/9-Tschaikowsky-Vals-sentimentale-TM.mp3

Edison Denisow, Kammermusik für Viola, Cembalo und Streicher
Gewandhausorchester, Michael Agrest - Dirigent

Edison Denisow, Kammermusik für Viola, Cembalo und Streicher https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/10-Denisow-Kammermusik_TM.mp3

A. Zyganow, Introduktion und Czardas
Yaruss-Quartett

A. Zyganow, Introduktion und Czardas https://tatjanamasurenko.de/wp-content/uploads/11-A.-Zyganow-Introduktion-und-Czardas-TM.mp3

Hörproben